Teaching Staff

The Master

J Leigh MA

Second Master

W D L Nicholas BEng

Deputy Head (Academic)

J M Barot MA MSc 

Senior Admissions Tutor

Dr N G Hamilton BA PhD ATC

Director of Co-Curriculum     

Mrs D J Harris MA

Head of Boarding

Lady Cayley MA

Art Department

J H Parnham BA MA (RCA) (Head of Department)
Mrs R L T Bruce BA
Mr JJ Duplock MA
V J Stokes BA ATC
I A Wilkins BA MFA
Mrs B S Wingfield-Digby BA
Mr AG Franks (Artist-in-Residence)

Back to top

Classics Department

J F Lloyd BA MPhil (Head of Department)
P A Finn MA
B W Giles MA
Mrs R F Horton MA
Dr G M Longley MA MSt DPhil
Miss ID Munro Kerr MA

Back to top

Design Technology Department

P R Adams BEd FRSA (Head of Department)
Mrs J Fruci BA
M Conlen BSc
D J Madden BEng

Back to top

Drama Department

D Kenworthy BA MFA (Head of Department)
Ms J Darby Dip BA GSM LGSM
Miss M C Von Weissenberg BA

Back to top

Economics and Business Studies

D I Andrew MSci MA (Head of Department)
Mrs AL Adderley BA
C L Harrison BSc
P N Keighley BEng
P J O'Sullivan BA

Back to top

English Department

Mrs L F W Ford MA (Head of Department)
J P Carroll BEd
A Gist BA MA
N O P Gordon MA
Dr F S McKeown BA PhD
E G Nobes MA
Dr M J Ponsford BA PhD
Mrs C E Green MA(Ed)
H L R Tilney BA

Back to top

Geography Department

K J D Richards MA (Head of Department)
J Hodgson BSc
Mrs J A Hodgson BA
Miss A C Langdale BSc MSc
Miss HL Meehan BSc
B H Miller BSc
Mrs C N Pembroke BA

Back to top

History Department

CAF Moule MA (Head of Department)
M B Blossom MA
M P L Bush BA
Lady Cayley MA
P G M Ford MA
W J Molyneux BA
R A Sandall BCom BA 

Back to top

History of Art Department

Dr F S Mc Keown BA PhD (Head of Department)
Mrs R Scott BA MA
Dr N G Hamilton BA PhD ATC
Mrs A T Woodford BA

Back to top

Information Technology Department

G B Shearn BSc (Head of Department)
K G A Smith BA

Back to top

Learning Support Department

Ms C E Page BA MA Dip SpLD (Head of Department)
Mrs B L Callender BEd Dip SpLD
Mrs J McClean BA TESOL
Mrs EJ Ross BA MA TEFL MA PG Cert SpLD/Dyslexia
Mrs S A Shearn BEd Cert SpLD

Back to top

Mathematics Department

Mrs A J Finn MSc (Head of Department)
Miss N L Allen BSc
S J Ellis BSc
R Evans BA
Dr S D Flatres MSci PhD
Miss OF Grimley BSc
Miss D L Lilley BSc MA
Mrs D J Harris MA
M McNally BSc
S G Quinn BSc
Dr E Ryder BSc PhD
Miss H M Scott BSc ICAS
C S Smith BEng MSc
C O Stewart MA

Back to top

Modern Languages Department

A J Brown MA (Head of Modern Languages)
R A Cockett MA (Head of German)
A H de Trafford MA (Head of Spanish)
Ms Q Li (Head of Mandarin Chinese)
P N Morley-Fletcher BA (Head of French)
N Nelson-Piercy BA (Head of Russian)
Mrs A T Woodford BA (Head of Italian)

Mrs L H Cannon BA MA (Mandarin)
S C Clayton BA (Spanish)
Miss V G M Delalleau BA (French/Italian)
Mrs S A Finn BA (French/Spanish)
J T W Lane BA (Spanish)
T C M Lauze MBA (Director of Teaching and Learning)
Mrs A L Keighley BA (French)
Mrs K J Kiggell BA (French/Italian/German)
T A Kiggell MA (French)
Mrs Y Momota (Japanese)
Ms R C Rainer (German)

Language Assistants

H H Abbas (Arabic)
Mrs P M A de Beukelaer (Upper School French conversation)
Mrs T D Bungey (Russian Lower School conversation)
Mrs C A Coughlan (Lower School French conversation)
Mrs C K Dukes (French A2)
Mrs T D Edmunds (Russian Upper School conversation)
Mrs M T James (Italian conversation)
Miss R Gomez Sevilla (Lower and Upper School Spanish)
Mrs Montserrat Ibanez-Rodriguez (Spanish Language Assistant)
Mrs S M McKeown (German IB Language tuition)

 Back to top

Music Department

P T Dukes FGSM ARAM (Artistic Director)
Mrs C Toomer GGSM (Deputy Head of Music)
P A J Hodgkinson BA (Choirmaster)
A J Arkwright BA
M J Baldrey BMuS FTCL
A S Eales BMus
A O J Staines

Back to top

Outdoor Activities Department

R Tong (Head of Department)
D P T Curry BSc
Mr A Dixon (Graduate Assistant)

Back to top

Physical Education and Sport Department

Miss K M Bennett BSc MSc (Director of Sport)
A S Pembleton BSc (Head of Physical Education)

J Beckett BSc (Sports Facilities Manager)
W G Heywood BSc
J Jackson BSc (Head of Hockey)
G D M Lane BSc
A C Pountney MA (Head of Rugby)
M J Sharrad BSc
R H Wakely (Rackets and Tennis Professional)

Graduate Assistants
Miss L Bayliss
Miss J Cohen
Miss G Lawes
B M Mackey
Miss D McFarlane
Mr T Smith

Back to top

Politics Department

M A Gow BA (Head of Department)
C L Harrison BSc
R Willmett BA

Back to top

Religious Studies and Philosophy Department

The Revd J G W Dickie MA BLitt (Acting Head of Department)
The Revd Dr D Campbell MTh DMin
Mrs V R Jhakal MA
H E B Jones BA
G I Macmillan BA
G R Playfair MA

Back to top

Science Department

Dr G A Doyle BSc MSc PhD DIC CChem MRSC (Head of Science)



(C E Barclay BSc FRAS FRSA (Head of Department))
N M Allott BSc
Dr D G Roberts MSc PhD

Back to top


Mrs A E Paterson BA MA (Head of Department)

T A Birkill BSc
Mrs H A M Cox BSc
S M D Dempster BA
S J Dennis MBE BSc MSc
J J Lyon Taylor BSc
Mrs J McFarland BSc
N J L Moore BSc MA
Dr L J Richards BSc PhD

 Back to top


Mrs C A Walsh BSc (Head of Department)
D R Armitage BSc MA
Dr G A Doyle BSc MSc PhD DIC CChem MRSC (Head of Science)
T G R Marvin MA
W D L Nicholas BEng (Second Master)
Mrs E C Smith BA
Dr J P Swift BSc PhD

 Back to top


C J Wheatland MPhys (Head of Department)
N M Allott BSc
J M Barot MA MSc (Deputy Head, Academic)
(C E Barclay BSc FRAS FRSA (Head of Astronomy))
Mrs J E Lane BSc
G J McSkimming BSc
Dr D G Roberts MSc PhD
J Wright BSc

 Back to top