Review: Evening Pupils’ Recital

Category: Music, General, Pupil Achievements

Thursday 28 September 2017

The first formal evening recital of the new school year was a much-anticipated occasion and perhaps slightly unusually, featured not only more seasoned Music Scholars, but additionally several very impressive new Shell musicians. 

The programme could hardly have been more eclectic: Bach, Handel, Hindemith, Martinu, Chopin and Messiaen were just a few of the featured composers ensuring a thoroughly colourful and engaging occasion.  In a word, the performances were simply marvellous. 

To open proceedings we were treated to some delightfully structured and elegant string playing in a sonata of Scots tunes (Rose Olver (EL Re), HMHS, Isla Scott (DA Sh), Isabella Morley (DA Sh), Sophie Smith (DA Re)) followed by an accomplished and purposeful performance from new Shell Music Scholar Monty Pretor-Pinney (B1 Sh) on marimba.  Annabel Hannan (NC Hu), Isla Scott and Sophie Smith produced some beautifully expressive lines in the Tchaikovsky trio and Emily Ambrose (Mo Sh), bassoon, offered a sophisticated, classy and beautifully crafted rendition  of Bozza’s Fantaisie

Pia von Wersebe’s (CO L6) performance of Danse Espagnole on violin was brimming with energy and passion, George Nicholson (C3 L6) delivered a fearless and engaging rendition of Hindemith’s Trumpet Sonata, with James Eyles (LI U6) restoring calm in a reflective Bach solo movement on flute.  Jess Faber (CO L6) demonstrated superb facility and dexterity in a musical and persuasive performance of Chopin’s Revolutionary Study, whilst Shona Scott (NC U6) showed terrific application and courage in Messiaen’s demanding Theme and Variations for violin and piano.  To conclude proceedings, Luke Smith, cello, (CO U6), who just gets better and better, performed Martinu’s Variations on a Slovakian theme with terrific panache and desire ending a fabulous recital that brimmed with huge talent, potential and heartfelt musicianship.  Bravo!

Philip Dukes
Artistic Director

<- Back to: Music