The Council

The Council


The Most Reverend The Lord Archbishop of Canterbury


The Bishop of Salisbury

Chairman of Council

Mr G I Henderson CBE

Members of Council

Mr J K Baker
Revd Charlotte Bannister-Parker
Professor Sir John Bell
Mr S M W Bishop
Mrs Penelope Cameron Watt
Mr P Coleman
Mrs Amanda Cooke
Mr E Elliott
Mr P Freeman
Dr Tracy Long CBE
Lieutenant General Sir John Lorimer KCB DSO MBE
Mr W Mills
Mr C H Pymont QC
Revd Lindsay Yates

International Council

YAM Tunku Ali Redhauddin ibni Tuanku Muhriz
Mr T D P Kirkwood

Council Members

Giles Henderson CBE (Chairman)

Giles Henderson took over as Chairman from Lord Malloch-Brown on 1st August 2019. Giles grew up in South Africa and then studied at Oxford and taught at Berkeley. He had a very distinguished career as a lawyer culminating in eight years as Senior Partner at Slaughter and May in London. Subsequently, he was Master at Pembroke College, Oxford. A full biography will follow at the start of the Michaelmas term.

The Reverend Lindsay Yates

Lindsay Yates is Rector of the Octagon Parish in the rural South Downs near Chichester and is a former Marlborough parent. She read law at Selwyn College, Cambridge and briefly practised at the Bar before studying theology in London and Oxford. She was ordained in the Diocese of Oxford in 1999 and served a curacy in Bampton, Oxfordshire. The majority of her ministry has been in higher education and clergy training, as Chaplain of Pembroke College and Westcott House, Cambridge and most recently as a tutor and lecturer at St Mellitus College in London, the largest theological training institution in the Church of England. She was Junior Proctor of the University of Cambridge in 2009-10 where she served on a number of university bodies, committees and boards and was responsible for maintaining good order and the right to free speech across the university. She is a governor of the Church of England primary school in her parish and was appointed to the Council in 2019.